The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie by Muriel Spark

I hadn’t heard about author Muriel Spark until I saw this image on Jessie’s blog.

Knowing nothing about Muriel Spark, I picked The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie based on it’s title. It’s a great title, however this book wasn’t for me at this time. None of the characters were particularly likable. There isn’t a strong plot, at least the strength of plot I require now. Written humor often is lost on me. For me the book was a dud. That’s not to say it wouldn’t be a great book for you.

I’m looking forward to reading the young adult books The Drowned Cities and Insurgent. Both are dystopias and promise tons of plot. Ahh…

Review based on a library book.

3 thoughts on “The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie by Muriel Spark

  1. Jessie says:

    Bummer, too bad it was a dud for you, but now you know right?
    Let me know how your dystopias are!

  2. Coming East says:

    I haven’t heard of either of those YA novels, but I’m going to look into them because I have a 14-year-old granddaughter. We both read and loved the Hunger Games trilogy long before the movie came out.

  3. Susie says:

    Insurgent is the second book of the Divergent trilogy, which begins with Divergent. I just finished Insurgent and wasn’t disappointed with the strong plot. It is quite violent, with more descriptions of blood and gunplay than I remember from The Hunger Games.
    I highly recommend the dystopia Ship Breaker for those who enjoyed The Hunger Games. It’s garnered several awards. Author Paolo Bacigalupi just published what appears to be a companion book, The Drowned Cities.

Leave a Reply

