In my book pile

I keep lists of books to read. The likely ones end up in my pile.

Pile of Books

Here’s my most recent pile: Damming the OsageEating DirtGreening VermontHoneycomb KidsIn Wildness is the Preservation of the WorldNiagara DigressionsNuclear RouletteThe Greening of Oz; and The Last Atoll. This pile is only partly by my choice. I agreed to review nonfiction books about ecology and the environment. The reviews are due by May 15! I cleared my started pile and redefined it with the books to be reviewed. I did keep Into Thick Air: Biking to the Bellybutton of Six Continents just in case I needed to clear my head while reviewing.

I started the review process by looking at the pictures in In Wildness is the Preservation of the WorldGreening Vermont; and Damming the Osage. The photos are great! Without them I may have become overwhelmed by the process. (I’ll come back to the text later.) Then I began reading Eating Dirt which doesn’t have any pictures, but is very readable. I hope they all are this appealing.  Wish me luck!

6 thoughts on “In my book pile

  1. Helen says:

    You’re going to know so much (even more than you know now!) by the time you’ve finished your pile of books!

  2. Lisa says:

    Wow, nice book review pile! I do the same thing, as I LOVE non-fiction titles.

    • Susie says:

      I LOVE non-fiction too, but am a little overwhelmed by the big stack. It seems the older I get, the pickier that I am about what I’m willing to read. Eating Dirt has been great and I hope the others are too!

      • Susie says:

        The above is a reminder that I shouldn’t write anything at the end of the day. If I have the chance to repeat myself, I will!
        Love nonfiction, overwhelmed, hope the books are good reads.

  3. lynn says:

    Good luck Susie, I’m anxiously awaiting the reviews! Will you let us know where we may read them?

    • Susie says:

      Hi Lynn,
      I hope you are not too anxious! Watch for my reviews late in May. p.s. When I asked George about passing on the cookbook he exclaimed “What do you have against this book!?” Some things are easier to let go of than others. 😉

Leave a Reply

